Cristiano Ronaldo retains Ballon d'Or to match Messi


Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d’Or for a fifth time, equalling the all-time record of Lionel Messi.

Does Ronaldo make your Team of the Year?

The Real Madrid forward collected 946 points, with Messi (670) second and Neymar (361) third.

Ballon d’Or top ten

Watch all Ronaldo’s European goals

1 Cristiano Ronaldo
2 Lionel Messi
3 Neymar
4 Gianluigi Buffon
5 Luka Modrić
6 Sergio Ramos
7 Kylian Mbappé
8 N’Golo Kanté
9 Robert Lewandowski
10 Harry Kane

The award caps another memorable year for Ronaldo. He won the UEFA Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, Spanish Liga, Spanish Super Cup and could yet end up with the FIFA World Club Cup – Madrid begin their defence in one week.

The 32-year-old also helped European champions Portugal book a FIFA World Cup spot, his tally of 15 goals bettered only once in European Qualifiers. He has already collected the UEFA Best Player in Europe Award and Best FIFA Men’s Player prize this season.

Does Ronaldo make your Team of the Year?

Does Ronaldo make your Team of the Year?

“I feel very happy, it’s a fantastic moment in my career,” said Ronaldo. “I’ve been waiting for this for a long time. This year has been great. Trophies help win these awards and we have to thank my colleagues from Madrid and Portugal, it was very important for me. I hope to play at this level for a few more years. I hope the battle with Messi continues; things happen for a reason.”

Ronaldo previously won the Ballon d’Or in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016, finishing second to Messi in 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2015; the Argentinian was runner-up in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016.

Ronaldo in 2017

UEFA club competition
Appearances: 14 (13 UEFA Champions League, one Super Cup)
Goals: 19 (all UEFA Champions League)

Spanish Liga
Appearances: 28
Goals: 17

Domestic cups
Appearances: 3
Goals: 2

Watch all Ronaldo's goals from qualifying

Watch all Ronaldo’s goals from qualifying

Appearances: 11
Goals: 11

TOTAL: 48 goals in 54 appearances (0.88 goals per game)

Last ten awards*
2008 Ronaldo
2009 Messi
2010 Messi
2011 Messi
2012 Messi
2013 Ronaldo
2014 Ronaldo
2015 Messi
2016 Ronaldo
2017 Ronaldo

2017 final highlights: Real Madrid 4-1 Juventus

2017 final highlights: Real Madrid 4-1 Juventus

All-time Ballon d’Or wins*
5 Lionel Messi
= Cristiano Ronaldo
3 Michel Platini
= Johan Cruyff
= Marco van Basten

France Football magazine has given the award every year since 1956. Between 2010 and 2015 it known as the FIFA Ballon d’Or – four won by Messi, two by Ronaldo – but football’s world governing body is no longer associated with the prize. The last player other than Messi or Ronaldo to win the award in either guise was Kaká in 2007.

*Statistics include merged FIFA Ballon d’Or award

Source link